The National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP requirements.

As a result, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from the community actions meeting the three goals of the CRS:

  • Reduce flood losses
  • Facilitate accurate insurance rating
  • Promote the awareness of flood insurance

Chatham is currently rated as a Class 7 community. This rating entitles residents of Chatham to a 15% flood insurance discount. The Community Development Department is available to assist you with questions about FEMA Flood-plain maps and the National Flood Insurance Program. Town staff can also assist you with the following:

  • Flood-plain property determinations
  • Advice on reducing flood damage to your property
  • Questions regarding Chatham's Flood Plain District and Conservancy District By-Laws
  • Questions regarding the flood-resistant construction requirements of the Massachusetts State Building Code.
  • Topographic maps and other GIS information